Masks

Some nights my sleep is interrupted throughout with random dreams that I can only remember bits and pieces of when I wake up. Joe said he never knew anyone who had so many dreams as me. Maybe it’s a writer’s thing. I don’t really know. I do know that some of my blog ideas come from some of those dreams.

Do you ever wish you could put a mask over the body that you have and be the body you wish you were? Some days I think I’m never going to get to that weight goal I set for myself. Some days it’s a struggle to make it through the day without pigging out on comfort food. I set that goal shortly after my daughter was born. She’s 32. It has been a long, on and off attempt, and most ended in me giving up. Simple fact of nature and life is, we get old and our bodies change.

I accept that and I understand it is going to take more effort than I realize. Could it be like quitting smoking? When you really want to do it, you can do it. I was able to quit that 22 year habit, I should be able to drop a few bad habit formed pounds.

Masks are a funny thing. Those extra pounds are like masks. They were put there to protect us from something that we didn’t want others to see. Think about that. Sometimes if we dig deeper we see the mask of why we struggle. Sometimes that makes the struggle harder but, it may need to be something we have to face. This was revealed to me in my dreams—I won’t go into detail but food for thought. Face the “why” behind the why.

Okay, maybe a little too philosophical although I’m no philosopher. Random thoughts come from weird dreams. Just ask Joe. He’ll tell you some days when I wake up and talk about my dreams, he wonders what planet I came from and if they ever shut up there.

Until next time,

Please feel free to share your comments, thoughts, ideas or just to say hello.